putting myself out there

Everyone knows about my love for white dude rock, but it became apparent to me this morning while I was at the gym that I have some other songs on my iPod that I’m not too proud of. The following is a list of songs that makes me wonder what’s wrong with me.

 

Kylie Minogue – “Love At First Sight

kylie.jpg

Oh yes. When this songs thumping dance beat hits my headphones, suddenly I’m lifting those weights so much faster. When she croons, “Thought about givin’ up, didn’t know what to do, then there was yoooouu” I think to myself, “That’s right Kylie! Don’t give up on love and I won’t give up on this bench press!” When this gem comes on I feel so energized, I feel ready for anything, but most of all I feel like shaking my money maker.

Duncan Sheik – “Barely Breathing

duncansheik.jpg

Poor Duncan, why has she wronged you? Look at that face! How could she play with your tender face that way??? This song is the direct opposite of Kylie. I hear this and instantly I’m mulling over the deeper issues in my life, like “Why don’t I have any more peanut butter in the apartment?” and “I think I’ve only seen the back of my head once in all of my life.” Duncan puts me in a deep, mellow mood, ready to answer any question with, “I only taste the saline when I kiss away your tears.” That might not be a good thing to say to the men I know in my life though.

P.M. Dawn – “Set Adrift on Memory Bliss

pmdawn.jpg

Yeah right – this song is fucking awesome.

Sugar Ray – “Someday

someday_281x211.jpg

Yup, more white dude rock. This song puts me in a fun, I’m lucky I grew up in a middle class family kinda mood. So what if lead singer Mark McGrath says the exact same thing over and over and over during the song – it’s a classic. With lines like “We’ll take a swim in the deep blue sea, I go to leave and you reach for me” it’s obvious that Sugar Ray is deeper than most people give them credit for. This song also makes me want to skip. Skipping down the streets of Brooklyn is not usually a good idea, but with my white dude music playing, I don’t have a care in the world.

Madonna – “Into the Groove

madonnayoucandancefrontiy1.jpg

This is Madonna’s best song. Hands down. And don’t try and argue with me, I will fight for old school (only old school, her new stuff sucks) Madonna ’till the death! This song has a similar effect like that of Kylie’s – I am a dancing machine! This was also featured in that crappy “Desperately Seeking Susan” movie, but don’t knock it because of that. If this song doesn’t get your body moving, I don’t know what to tell you. Well, maybe something like, “Music can be such a revelation, dancing around, you’ll feel the sweet sensation!” There really is no comeback for that line – don’t even try it.

 

Well there you have it, my wussy music has been officially outed. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go grow a moustache, chop some firewood, arm wrestle a bear, crush a beer can on my head, lift something really heavy and listen to some music about having sex with lots of women.

32 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

32 responses to “putting myself out there

  1. I don’t know who you are anymore.

    Just…I can’t…give me some time to process this.

  2. Hey, if the music tells you to dance, or skip, don’t fight it.

  3. Oh man. I forgot about that PM Dawn song.

    I have a special place in my heart for Squeeze “Tempted By the Fruit of Another” and Sting “If I Ever Lose My Faith In You”

  4. If you saw some of the shit on my iPod you’d probably never speak to me again.

    Uh.. write to me? Or something. Yeah. That.

  5. I love Duncan Sheik. I’m pretty sure “Barely Breathing” is the only song of his I’ve ever heard though.

  6. kiala – c’mon, look, it’s me! It’s me Chris, your internet friend! Remember all those witty comments I posted on your blog? You remember them don’t you? Don’t you???

    dutchess – exactly!

    hollywood – PM Dawn was the man for making that song. And that Sting song is pretty good as well.

    deutlich – oh yes I would. What ya got? Come clean with me.

    freeandflawed – yes, that was it for him. I bet people told him, “look buddy, ‘barely breathing’ is as good as you’re gonna get, so just stop it.”

  7. What does it say about me that this playlist makes me like you more?

  8. tiff

    what about Vertical Horizon???

  9. Um, those are all great songs. I don’t know what you’re talking about.

  10. callmekp

    “That’s right Kylie! Don’t give up on love and I won’t give up on this bench press!”

    Love that the Aussie disco queen gets you moving. Ith fabulouth. And the tag “I’m really a man I swear” just sent this post through the roof.

    I’m with J-Money. Your gym mix may not be hyper-masculine thug music about shootin’ up and knockin’ off hos. But it makes you unusually cooler in my eyes.

    And I still listen to Hanson.

    Ready, Aim, Fire…

  11. This shit cracks me up.

    And here I thought I was a tool when “Sieze the Day” from the Newsies soundtrack came on my iPod. Oh wait… that does make me a tool, doesn’t it? 😦

  12. crissyspage

    No freakin’ way!
    Like A Prayer is the best Madonna song!
    I used to love that PM Dawn song. I forgot all about it.
    I think I have to add you to my blogroll for three reasons:
    1)I love that you came out about your musical tastes. (even though I emphatically disagree on the Madonna issue)
    2) I’m apparently stalking you since I’ve commented like 3 times today.
    3) I need to represent the opposite sex on my blogroll because it’s just a big ol’ estrogen fest right now.

  13. You lost me at Sugar Ray. The Dude does NOT abide!

    Good for you and your honesty, but some things just should not be shared.

  14. j-money – nothing positive.

    tiff- oh man, they were terrible. What was their song? [googling] Oh yeah, “Everything you want.” I can’t believe I just typed “[googling]” I should fucking shoot myself.

    julie – yes. or no. Whichever reply makes me sound more manly.

    kp – mmm bop huh? Have you seen them lately? I still think the lead singer, you know the hot girl, is pretty awesome.

    lacey – yes.

    kristen – My girlfriend loves “Like a Prayer,” but I find it highly overrated. And I enjoy stalkers. And thanks, go men bloggers!

    mickey – but sugar ray is probably the least girly out of all of them. Plus, Mark McGrath is soooo dreamy!

  15. tiff

    I want to stand up for Lacey Bean! And also I wanted her to send me a copy of the Newsies soundtrack.

  16. OMG LACEY I LOVE YOU.

    Sorry. I just…The Newsies….it’s in my heart.

  17. This is the first time I have stumbled across your blog. I fucking love it! I just read the entire page of posts and you made me laugh out lound a bunch of times. Thanks. You totally rock. Even though for the first half of this post I thought you were a chick. 🙂

  18. arielle

    It’s true, I do love Like a Prayer. If I were ever inclined to bench press something, I’m sure it would help.

    And the Newsies is awesome.

  19. Dude, I love Kylie’s Love At First Sight. Nothing to be ashamed of there, my friend.

    I love Madonna’s Get Into The Groove (hell, I love Madonna), but her best songs are Justify my Love and Get Together, imo.

    And yeah…off to dance to Kylie now since you have that song stuck in my head.

  20. thatsadditychic

    LOL ok the first 2 songs I have on repeat often. You have good taste in music man.

  21. Oh man. All I ever listen to at the gym is Family Force 5 and the Crystal Method.

    I think I need a re-vamp… thanks for the inspiration!

  22. tiff, kiala & ari – It appears all three fans of that movie found each other.

    sassy – thanks. And I’m dude, really.

    kiera – Yeah, and hey, at least Kylie’s got a great ass. Also, you are soooo wrong about madonna. I’m sorry.

    thatsadditychic – thank you. I agree.

    robyn – You’re welcome – I am here to help the world be a better place.

  23. Marcos

    Dude, I also have Kylie Minogue on my iPod.

    Don’t be ashamed of PM Dawn.

  24. marcos – yes, another classic!

  25. You’ve only seen the back of your head once? What the hell is wrong with you?

  26. melissa – How many times have you seen yours? Is there some kind of method you have? Tell me!

  27. B2G

    What’s wrong with Vertical Horizon? And I totally have “Barely Breathing” on my iTunes.

  28. PM DAWN!

    love that song…don’t be ashamed.

  29. b2g – Everything is wrong with Vertical Horizon.

    erin – No shame in that at all.

  30. PM Dawn was the shit! I was looking for that album in a record shop 2 days ago. No luck.

  31. I’m not telling.

    I refuse.

    Seriously. You don’t want to know.

  32. Pingback: mood music « surviving myself

Leave a Reply

