when Irish dudes are yelling

Today is St. Patrick’s Day, that lovely day when I get to celebrate being Irish by getting wasted and yelling about stuff.

If you know me then you know that this is the way I celebrate pretty much anything (you got the gum off your shoe? Let’s drink!  You found that stapler you lost? Let’s drink!) but today is different.

It’s separate from all my other drinking escapades (love that Janet Jackson song) because today is the one day when I am expected to yell about stuff.

In the last two weeks I’ve met some bloggers for the first time and afterward, on both occasions, I came away with a distinct feeling that maybe I should warn people about how loud I get when I drink.

It’s not like any of those people were offended or anything.  But I sense that people don’t really get that when I rant on this blog, it is because I rant like that in real life.  Just ask Ari, J.P. and my friend Dave, whose first memory of meeting me at work is having me yell about how they were planning to remake Robocop.

What can I say?  I have this unique ability to yell about pretty much anything, and that, one could say, is the Irish in me coming out.

If I had to list my top ten favorite Things To Do, yelling about stuff and drinking would definitely be in there.  It might even crack the top five.

Today, on St. Patrick’s Day, these two activities will not only be acceptable tonight after work, they will be welcomed with open arms. Hell, I’ll probably even sing/yell that one Irish song, Danny Boy.

Oh Danny Boy, the pipes, the pipes are calling!  From glen to glen and other stuff too!

God I love that song.

45 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

45 responses to “when Irish dudes are yelling

  1. haha i like danny boy too. i can play it on fiddle! irishhh.

    Fiddle playing is an odd talent to have, you don’t find too many people who can do that.

  2. Matt

    The fucked up thing is, they arent doing another sequel or prequel to Robocop, they are just re-making the original.

    thats bullshit.

    Exactly. Fucking kills me. No way it’s going to be as good as the original. The thing about the first one was it was actually a quality movie. Sure, I mostly loved it because it was about a robot cop and there was more violence in it than any other movie I had seen at the time. But what makes Robocop stand the test of time are the themes – it was more about how Robo was this savior figure for a city (and the world in general) that had gone to shit because of media overload and materialism. No way that match that in the new one.

    “Come quietly or there will be…. Trouble.”

  3. Escapade! For some reason I had a cassette single of that song when I was maybe eleven and I listened to it over and over in the car on the way to Panama City on my yellow Walkman Sport. I think I won the cassette in a contest at school or something.

    Do you think Janet has any Irish in her? Or would you like to be the first? (Ba-dum-CHING!)

    Maybe old school Janet – not new Janet with the weird looking face.

  4. I also tend to sound like I’m always yelling,when in fact that’s just the way I talk.People just have to deal with it.

    Yes.

  5. Well, take advantage of your blood heritage then, and do what you can do best 🙂 have fun and scream as there’s no tomorrow!

    I will.

  6. well…”as if there was no tomorrow”…sorry, I had to fix that 😛

    I understand.

  7. Yay for the Irish! I love St. Patrick’s day but it totally blows that it is on a Tuesday this year. WTF? I have kickboxing class. And I hate being hungover at work. So I have a feeling I’ll only have 2 beers and call it a night. So depressing. I am totally lame.

    Totally!

  8. Oh, He’s a yeller, people. A personal favorite moment: standing in a bar with people starring at us while he yelled about Oprah not letting Michelle Obama just have the cover of O Magazine. It was pretty intense.

    This is a perfect example – because right after I ranted about this, I wrote a post about it. See people? What you read is really what you get when you meet me.

  9. I am not so much as a yeller but I can be very loud, especially when I drink. Oh I might get a bit obnoxious too. It is just one of the many amazing things about me.

    Oh yeah, me too.

  10. jay grochalski

    gotta disagree with you on this one. St. Patty’s is pure amateur night. i was told once about three nights in NYC to not go out on: New Year’s Eve (amateur night 2: electric boogaloo), Halloween, and St. Patty’s.

    I know it is, I’m just going out for happy hour though. Nothing crazy really. Just a couple of dudes being dumb. No young kids.

  11. LOL! I’m always yelling about something but it’s mainly hereditary. I also think it may be a hearing problem. I had a coworker who yelled all the damn time and we’d joke that she was going deaf. Thing is … she was going deaf!! Holy shit! She had a tumor and was slowly losing her hearing in one ear. Thankfully, she’s fine now.

    Sláinte bitchezzz!

    I don’t know what Slainte means, but I’m all about bitchezzz.

  12. I often wonder how the Irish got the rep for being drunk and surly when, really, all of Europe is pretty damn drunk and surly. Like, hi, Russia?

    If you ask my parents, though, they’ll scoff and say “we’re not European, we’re from Ireland.”

    Of course.

    There is a huge difference.

  13. Pam

    I get loud when I drink and tend to yell at people across the room. Usually just to say hi or for them to come over to our table. And the sad thing is, I am far from Irish. I am Norwegin. Oh well. As everyone says, there is a little Irish in all of us.

    Have a great day! And happy singing!

    I’m preparing my voice now.

  14. Happy stpaddys haha, itd be cool if you’ll say, make a vlog about it 😀 drunk and being loud? awesome combo.

    Ha – trust me, you don’t want to see that.

  15. I’m always confused about this day. I mean, other than drinking and Bono finding his Lucky Charms or whatever, was there a real point?

    Nope. Just another excuse to get drunk.

  16. ML

    “(you got the gum off your shoe? Let’s drink! You found that stapler you lost? Let’s drink!)”

    You definitely are from Pittsburgh.

    Hahaha – yes I am and proud of it.

  17. I’ve been doing it wrong. Quiet Irish drunk is all wrong, isn’t it? I’ll get to work on the yelling. Thanks for setting me straight.

    Yeah, you have to yell, this is imperative.

  18. I giggle. A LOT. You can be loud and I’ll just giggle.

    That works for me.

  19. I have it on authority that your friend Dave might be skipping St. Patrick’s Day drinking to go to Spinning with his girlfriend. But you didn’t hear that from me.

    I hear that. He is being a wuss. And spinning of all things??? I’m just embarrassed.

  20. Question: Would you rather have today off to party or tomorrow off to recover?

    Tomorrow no doubt about it.

  21. Its not as if we loud just to be loud. When we drink it is like adding fuel to a fire that already exists. Think of guitar+amp=Great show!

    Haha – yes!

  22. Since I live with my parents who expect me to be a responsible Indian like they were, I can’t afford to come home drunk. Wish I was an Irish Indian 😦

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day!! May you never run out of booze and things to yell about!

    I want to have that last sentence on a poster.

  23. My favorite Irish song to shout is Molly Malone. Give it a try!

    In Dublin’s Fair City
    Where the girls are so pretty
    I first set my eyes on sweet Molly Malone
    As she wheel’d her wheel barrow
    Through streets broad and narrow
    Crying cockles and mussels alive, alive o!

    Chorus
    Alive, alive o!, alive, alive o!
    Crying cockles and mussels alive, alive o!

    If I can remember all of that, I will.

  24. I love the idea of a religious figure condoning a massive drunken orgy of a day. It’s so Renaissance era Vatican.

    Jesus was a drinker too. At least that’s what I hear.

  25. so what, are you going to be listening to a bunch of flogging molly and dropkick murpheys today?

    and when you yell, are you really just complaining?

    There is some complaining, but mostly it’s arguing.

  26. i wish i was still living in an area where St Pats was a day (not just the preceeding weekend) because i’d like an excuse to get drunk and yell tonight and our one irish bar will be boring and sad.

    Do it anyway, it might be fun to see what happens.

  27. I miss St. Patrick’s Day in New York! It’s not the same in LA (though few things are, I guess).

    NY > LA. And no, I’ve never been there.

  28. I wonder what your kids are going to turn out like.

    Probably awesome.

  29. I love St. Patrick’s Day, it’s the one day of the year when having red hair is weird. It’s my time to shine.

    Also Sláinte is just Irish for cheers.

    Thanks. And yes, go show your red locks with pride!

  30. I wish I were Irish. I mean, I am a little bit. Just enough to have the sensitivity to alcohol and accompanying red nose, but not enough to know any Irish songs.

    It makes me sad that you don’t drink anymore.

  31. I am 90% Irish and 10% Norman french.

    This makes me awesome because I can get all snooty and superior about the quality of the Whiskey I just threw up.

    Yes it does, which is the best thing about being Irish. Ever have Johnnie Walker Blue? I had it once and it was the best whiskey ever. Just amazing.

  32. St Paddy’s day should always be an Escapade of the first order.

    Fucking right.

  33. i don’t believe you. make a video to prove it.

    If I had rich enough friends to own a camcorder, I totally would have them tape me ranting about something. I swear, if I’m ever caught on tape yelling about something, I’ll post it here.

  34. Susie

    I found you via Culinary Couture and read your entire blog yesterday. Your rants remind me of me, just slightly amplified. You’re hilarious; keep up the good work. Go get drunk and yell at people for the both of us. Happy St. Pat’s.

  35. Sure, you might like to yell and drink beer on St Patty’s, but did YOU eat a green bagel this morning? I did! I win!

  36. danny boy is especially fun to yell in the chumbawumba sense.

  37. i wonder if janet is celebrating today? i sincerely hope so.

    cheers!

  38. Since you are the master of getting drunk and yelling – when I am at a bar hammered and screaming about how much I hate ESPN can I say I “got Chris’d last night”. Or – “Dude, 5 tequila shots? You are going to be so Chris later!”

  39. Erin Go Braugh, indeed.

  40. I cannot wait for the hangover blog post about what you think you might have yelled about but don’t quite remember.

    Have one for me tonight!

  41. as long as you’re wearing something green while you yell then it’s totally acceptable.

  42. tia

    i really wish we lived closer to each other.

  43. I didn’t read this yesterday, because I started drinking EARLY. You call yourself Irish…

    P.S. I think we (Irish peeps) are somewhatly deaf and that drinking makes the ear canals clog up. SO it’s a hereditary defect.

  44. Look at that! I claimed being Irish… Must’ve really had a fun time on St. Patrick’s Day!

  45. oh i witnessed the ranting – and i like it.

Leave a Reply

